Terese’s Sugar Cookies

It’s a basic sugar cookie recipe…. substituting real butter for shortening.  It came along as an addition to my “Men of Ginger” holiday tradition when I was living in Miami.  My roommate and all 4 household doggies at the time would follow me around as the cookies were coming out of the oven and frosting was being made.  My roommate loved them so much that she bought all of the ingredients I needed, so she could make them for work… and then paid me to make them for her.  I still will never forget the day I cam home from work to find all of the flour that was sitting on the counter spilled throughout the kitchen…. and all 4 dogs with white noses and beards.  The chihuahua was the funniest… she was even too fat for her “I Ate Santa’s Cookies” sweater.  The cookies are such a hit, I now make them for all occasions.  Easter, Valentines… and just for fun!

Image

Ingredients:

3/4 cup unsalted butter
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1-1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

Cream butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla in large mixer bowl at medium speed until light and creamy.

Combine flour baking powder and salt in a separate bowl.  Add to creamy mixture on low speed of mixer until well blended.

Cover dough and chill at least one hour.  Overnight is better.

Preheat oven to 375

Roll out dough to 1/2 thick.  (I like thick cookies!)  Using cookie cutters, cut into desired shapes.  Place on ungreased baking sheets.  Bake at 375 for 10 minutes.

Cool either on a wire rack or brown paper bags before frosting.

Use my Royal Icing recipe to frost.

One thought on “Terese’s Sugar Cookies

  1. Pingback: Royal Icing | My Recipe Stash

Leave a comment